Or would they be considered muffins since I didn’t use icing?  Either way, I wanted to share this recipe.  I first made this recipe over July 4 and the cake was a huge hit with everyone who ate it.  I made it (sans nuts) as I found it over on Deep South Dish.   This time, I changed it up a little, using pineapple cake mix and still no nuts.  I’m not anti-nuts, but I usually just don’t have them on hand, so I don’t use them.  The recipe is similar to Hummingbird Cake many of us in the south grew up eating and it is oh, so moist and delish.

1 package pineapple cake mix
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup of water
1/2 cup of canola oil
3 large eggs

Spray a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with non-stick spray.  I made this batch in my muffin pans and it made 24 of these delectable delights.

In a bowl, add the cake mix, brown sugar and cinnamon and whisk to break up clumps.

In a separate bowl, combine the bananas, water, oil and eggs until mixed together. Add to the dry ingredients. Beat on low for about 1 minute, stop scrape down the sides, and beat another 2 minutes on medium speed.

Pour into the prepared pan and bake using the directions for whichever pan you choose:

In a 9×13 pan:  350 degrees for 25 minutes, reduce heat to 325 degrees and bake another 25 to 30 minutes or until nicely browned and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

For cupcakes: 350 degrees for 25 minutes.   These browned up and were done in the 25 minutes.

The icing for this cake is a quick caramel icing that is absolutely to die for.  Anything that has sugar, butter and half and half in it has to be good.  Especially when poured over cake.  Yums.  I didn’t make the icing this time.  I was trying to be “good” and leave them a little bit “healthy.”  I know. Whatevs.  However, I have to recommend her icing and it takes these bad boys to another level of yumminess.  Next time I will sub the oil with applesauce.

Quick Caramel Icing

1 stick of pure unsalted butter
1 cup of packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup of half and half
2 cups of sifted powdered sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

In a heavy bottomed saucepan, combine the butter and brown sugar and cook over a slightly higher than medium fire, until mixture begins to boil. This will take anywhere from 2 to 4 minutes depending on your stove. Once it begins to boil, slowly whisk in the half and half until well blended. Bring back just to a boil, turn the burner to low, remove the saucepan from the heat, add the powdered sugar and vanilla and blend. Return the saucepan to the burner and beat with a wooden spoon until smooth. Icing will get stiff quickly so you’ll need to immediately pour over cake and allow it to set.

Heavenly, I say.

