Today I slow cooked chili. It certainly isn’t a fancy dish, but it’s one I can cook that will give us a couple of meals and Will a lunch or two.

1 2/3 lb ground chuck $2.25
1/3 of a large green pepper .33
1/2 small onion .29
1 bottle V8 juice $2.40
1 can kidney beans (rinsed and drained) .69
1 can black beans (rinsed and drained) .69
1 large can diced tomatoes $1.09
1 pkg chili mix .50
ground red pepper
chili powder

Served over rice – FREE

I cook the green peppers and onions when I brown the ground beef. Put it in the crock pot and add V8 juice, both cans of beans, tomatoes and chili mix. Stir and cook on high for 4 hours or low 6 hours or so. After it’s been cooking for a while, I taste it and add seasonings to taste.

The total comes to $8.24, but I’ll round up to $8.50 to take into account the shakes of seasonings. We will get 7 servings out of this at $1.21 per serving. Tonight we had 3 1/2 servings, so the total cost for dinner was $4.24.

