Today’s culinary base was pork chops. One of the many things I love about Costco is their thick cut pork chops. I usually stock up when there is a $4.00 off coupon and I package them into three meals per pack and freeze. I buy the package that keeps me as close to $10 as I can…don’t know why. Just a weird habit, I guess.

Tonight’s fare was:

Pork chops with a dijon mustard sauce ($3.33 – AND Will has lunch for tomorrow. )

Cole slaw ($0.75)

Baked beans ($0.75)

Croissants ($1.00)

I’m rounding up to $6.50 to take in account all the seasonings, etc.

Pork Chops with Mustard Sauce

  • 4 (3/4-inch-thick) pork chops (I actually had 5 – sliced the thick ones from Costco in half)
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped shallots (1 to 2) (I didn’t have a shallot, so I used shallot salt from Penzey’s)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup country-style Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream (I used 2% milk because I didn’t have cream)
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 325°F.

Heat a dry 12-inch heavy skillet over moderately high heat until hot. Pat pork dry and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Add oil to hot skillet, swirling to coat, then brown chops, turning over once, about 8 minutes total. Transfer to a shallow baking pan, reserving skillet, and bake, uncovered, until cooked through, about 5 minutes. Let stand, loosely covered with foil, 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, pour off fat from skillet, then cook shallots in butter over moderate heat, stirring, until softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Add broth and any juices from baking pan and boil, scraping up any brown bits, 2 minutes. Add mustard and cream and return to a boil, then add lemon juice and simmer until sauce is slightly thickened, about 3 minutes.

This was yummy. I didn’t take into consideration that 1. I didn’t have low sodium chicken broth and 2. I used shallot salt, so the sauce turned out a bit on the salty side, but it was still good. We just ate less of it than we would probably have. I eyeballed the salt and pepper when I seasoned the chops.
I’m not sure what possessed me to make cole slaw, but I did. Supa simple.

Easy Cole Slaw

1 small head of cabbage
3/4 c. mayonnaise
1/8 c. Splenda
couple splashes of apple cider vinegar
salt
pepper

I love my Kitchen Aid food processor…makes it so simple to shred a head of cabbage in no time. BTW, I’m not an overly huge fan of carrots in my slaw, so when I make it I never use them. I put measurements, but, honestly, I don’t really follow them. I don’t like runny slaw, so I don’t use that much vinegar. I like a nice, creamy slaw that’s just sweet enough with just the right tang, so I start off kind of light and add if I need it. Put it in the fridge to hang out for a while and, voila. Done.

The croissants may have been store bought, but the butter melted on them was homemade. Shanny posted about making butter on her blog last summer and I immediately had to try it. Oh, my. This is the recipe I used (and I think maybe the same one she did) . I left mine unsalted. It is to.die.for. on a fresh loaf of homemade bread piping hot from the oven, but I settled for store bought refrigerated croissants tonight. I put a towel over my stand mixer because it will start to sling the buttermilk all over the place…she wasn’t kidding when she said it goes from not there to there in less than a blink of an eye. I store mine in a butter boat.

It is really, really simple to make and I absolutely love the taste of the fresh butter.

Think chicken is on tomorrow’s menu…
