There is a song by the Robbie Seay Band, a Christian rock band, called Love Wins.   I like the song alot and have since I first heard about the band at This Is Reverb.   I bought the CD and listened to this song over and over.   It’s in (on?) my iTunes at work, which isn’t the iTunes I use to sync my iPod, so the only time I hear it is when I listen at work.  But usually I listen to Pandora Radio, so iTunes gets a wee bit dusty.

Today, I dusted off iTunes and listened to the song and it got me thinking…does love really win?  There is no secret I’ve had some struggles over the past couple of years and this song made me wonder… is love really enough?  I’m not talking about faith.  I’m talking love.  Loving our family, our spouse, our friends.   I’m talking pure, unadulterated, makes your heart flutter and be glad, but watch out or you’ll end up behind rose colored glasses love.

We love things, the thoughts of things – dreams – and we love people.  But our love changes.  It goes to like.  And then to meh.  A new purse, for example.  We see it, love it and buy it.  Then, when we decide it isn’t quite right for us, we put it in our closet and usually the next step is to get rid of it, but not before it hides in the recesses of our closet for who knows how long.  Things that works for.  But what about the rest of our loves? If I were to declutter my people list every time someone lost their luster, in my eye, I would be a sad, lonely girl.   In this respect, I’m a hoarder.   I try to hang on to relationships and people; much like I do old purses.  It’s not that I don’t like them, because I still do, maybe it’s just not the right “outfit.”  It seemed a little simplistic to me at first, but the more I think about it, the more I question love being enough to continue down a path.  Do we love our jobs enough to remain in an environment that is unhealthy for us or do we do it out of necessity?  With the economy the way it is, I say this question gets answered differently than, say, five years ago.  What about relationships and the people in our lives?  Is the love we have enough to overcome hurt?  Is the passion enough to continue to forge on when our hearts are broken?  What about the one who gave us away when we got a scratch and weren’t “perfect” anymore, but didn’t tell us?  Forgiveness is important and, admittedly, it is not one of my best qualities.

If love, in fact, is enough, I don’t think I would have been on this roller coaster known as my life for as long as I have.  On the flip side, love helped get me here, so there’s an opposite pull on me.  I want love to win.  I do, but how do we roll ourselves back to find the love we lost along the way so love can win?

