Anyone with an ounce of compassion is saddened and heart-broken over the tragedy at Ft. H00d.  We are no different.  Those who know me, know how passionate I am about our Armed Forces and consider the Soldiers, Marines, Sailors, Airmen and Coasties, and their families, a part of our extended family.  It is family that just so happens to be spread to the four corners of the earth and 99.999% I’ll never meet, but have the distinct pleasure of being a minority with. 

My point…

Today I had a message from a television station.  The message was left on my home phone for someone I have done some volunteer work with.  She did a search and turned up the other lady’s name with my number attached.  It just so happens that I don’t have the phone number of the lady she was looking for, but since she addressed the group of which I’m a member, I figured I could answer whatever questions she may have. I’ve done it a hundred times or more.  I explained to the caller who I was, how I was related to the group  and asked was there something I could do for her.  (By the way, it’s 3:30 in the afternoon and I checked my messages from work after receiving notification of a voicemail left on my home number)  She told me she was looking for some people to talk to with ties to the military to give their opinions on what happened at Ft. H00d.  Well, that’s easy enough and I explained the way my family and I felt about it.  Heart broken and saddened by the events.  She wanted me to leave work to meet her for an interview.  When I explained I couldn’t because I’m easily an hour and a half from where she would need me to be and my schedule didn’t mesh with hers, she then wanted me to alert those I know who may be able to drop what they were doing to schlep into the Big City to do her interview for the nightly news, but it had to be done before 6 because she really needed to cover the candlelight vigil being held.  I know she’s not the newspaper, but I asked why couldn’t she just speak to people over the phone since it was such short notice.  I was told it wasn’t the same and the impact wasn’t as good.

It unnerved me.  And, no, I didn’t spread the word.  My thought: she did an internet search and found me.  So, do another one and find someone else.

