Last night I put a Boston butt in the crock pot.  I cheated a little and used a bottled Carolina style barbecue sauce.  I was adventurous last year and made my own rub and sauce.   Not so much this go round.   I put my butt in the pot, poured in a bottle of sauce and let it cook for about 7 hours.  On PomPom’s 7,000th trip outside last night, I turned off the slow cooker (about 3:30 a.m.) and I put everything in the fridge before I left for work.  We spruced it up with some additional bottled sauce while it was reheating on top of the stove and it was good.  I’m not crazy about the bottled sauce I chose, but ease won.

I also reheated Glorified Hash Browns I found in a “Taste of Home” potluck magazine I made last night for dinner.   I cut it in half since Will and I were the only two eating it:

Glorified Hashbrowns

(2) cans cream of celery soup (I used reduced fat)

(2) 8 oz. tubs of onion and chive cream cheese

(1) pkg. (2 lbs) frozen cubed hashbrown potatoes

(1) cup shredded cheddar cheese

DIRECTIONS

1. In a large microwave-safe bowl, combine soup and cream cheese.  Cover and cook on high for 3-4 minutes, or until cream cheese is melted, stirring occasionally.  Add potatoes and stir until coated.

2. Spoon into greased 13x9x2″ baking dish.  Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until potatoes are tender.  Sprinkle with cheese and bake another 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

A couple of changes I made and my insight:

  • I used reduced fat cream of celery soup
  • Like I said, I cut it in half since Will and I were the only two eating it.  It made enough for dinner last night and again tonight.
  • I stirred in some shredded cheese – not too much, but some.
  • I thought it was too much cream cheese.  I also have a hard time using full-fat cream cheese and am not a huge fan of the onion and chive one to start with, but it gave it pretty good flavor.  Will thought it was just right.
  • I actually baked it for a little over an hour.  Now, I used a round baking dish so it was probably “thicker” than if I would have spread it out into a rectangular dish like the directions called for.  I also increased the oven temp to 400 degrees to speed it along.

Next time I make it, I’ll change it up a little to better suit my tastes, but, all-in-all, it was good.  More of my hangups than anything else.

For dessert…Twinkies.  And I love the fact C0stco now sells them in bulk.

Love supa simple suppa nights.  Love.them.

