That’s a question I’ve heard a lot lately only to answer, “I wish I knew.”  Today, I saw a neurologist and have an answer.  At least I hope it’s the answer since it’s extremely manageable.

I’m a migraine sufferer and have been for years, but they’ve been pretty manageable when they come on and rarely do I have one that debilitates me.  That is, until three weeks ago.  After having one for a week, I went to my doctor for a check up and she changed up some medicines for me, one of which was for pain – nonnarcotic so it wouldn’t interfere with my day-to-day activities.  Well, after a couple of days, I started having all sorts of funky symptoms including muscle spasms, muscle tightness, aches in my joints, fatigue, dizziness, lightheadedness and I collapsed last Friday at work.  I went back to her earlier last week and she gave me something to undo the side effects of one of the medicines I was taking.   When I collapsed and passed out at work last Friday, that’s what really started the onslaught of “whatchu got?”  The ER doc ordered a CT, gave me fluids, told me I was dehydrated and to go home.  I followed up on Monday only to have more blood drawn and an MRI ordered.  I was also given a shot of Demerol and Phenergan because I was in so much pain, which didn’t do a thing for me.  I have been on bed rest for 7 days and miserable for most of those 7 days.  I had a clean MRI on Wednesday and an appointment with a neurologist today.

Apparently, I’ve had a viscious migraine, which caused many of my symptoms, which I knew some of.  I was having side effects of the pain medication, medicine I had taken before without issue, and it triggered mild seizures.  Since it was newly onset and very mild, it didn’t show up on the MRI.  So, now my medications have been straightened out and we’re working on getting my brain straightened out.  I’m going to have to change my diet slightly and pay extra special attention for the next week or so and watch my dizzy spells, but it’s good to have a solid starting point. 

Some of my other symptoms are still there and they are certainly nothing compared to what I’ve had, but my new doc says we’ll work on those when we get my brain under control.

Bottom line: I’m gonna live 🙂

