mme1

This is my friend M & Me on my wedding day; she was my maid of honor.  We met while I was in college and have been friends about 16 years, I think.  Anyway…today, M had heart valve replacement surgery.  It was supposed to be on Friday, but they postponed until today.   I prayed a lot.  I prayed not only for her, but for the surgeons who held her life, literally, in their hands.   I wanted to be there, but I wasn’t able to and she understood.  She has been there for me for every major event in my grown-up life and I really felt like I should have been there. 

This afternoon, around 4:00, her husband sent me a text message and I read the best news I had all day, “off bypass. hope to move 2 icu soon.”  He called me around 5 and he still had not seen her, but said all went well.  

M is one of those friends I may not see or talk to often, but when we do get together, it’s as if time stood still.   Friends are the family we get to choose and those who know me know I make my choices carefully. 

Lots of love to them and the prayers will keep flowing for them.

