This morning, the director of Olivia’s school pulled me aside and asked if anyone had told me what Olivia said to one of the new teachers.  My heart sank ’cause ya’ll know it could have been anything.  I took a deep breath and shook my head.

Olivia: Miss T.  My mommy is white.  My daddy is white.  I’m Chinese.  Are you chocolate?

Miss T: Well, I never really thought about it, but I guess that’s one way to look at it.

Miss T. is an African-American teacher who just joined the school.  She has a bright, bubbly personality and it shows in her interactions with the kids from what I’ve been able to see.

Olivia: I think you’re funny.  That’s a good thing.

Miss T. enjoyed hearing the end to the conversation.

Olivia has always known our family dynamic is different, but now it’s branching out to those who are around her.  Thanks to T for helping me regain my breath on this one with her kind words.

******************

Fabul-O has this new fascination with maps.  She has known her address and phone number for quite some time now, but she is to the point she wants to see where we live.  My mom gave her a pocket calendar that has maps in the back of it.  The kid poured over those maps like I’ve never seen her do.  Saturday afternoon we went to the bookstore and I bought her an Atlas that details the history of each of the states.  She knows a few states from visiting and talking about friends who live in other states.  Last night I gave her the choice of states to learn about and we learned about North Carolina.  She was pretty bored with Sir Raleigh and the “lost colony” part of it, but she perked right up when we moved on to the state bird, flower and tree.   That followed with a loooong discussion about the hummingbird feeder vs. the bird seed feeder.  The kid loves to learn about things.  Her favorite animal to tell us about is the narwhal, which is the animal they learned about when her class studied the letter N.  She’s also pretty hip on the macaw.   We encourage learning new things and love when she tells us what she’s learned.  Heck, I didn’t know about the narwhal until she told me, which proves what I’ve always said: she teaches me just as much as I teach her.

