Tomorrow begins a busy, busy weekend for the occupants of Chateau L. Okay, so it’s not like we let grass grow under our feet anyway, but the holidays always make it more hectic.

Tomorrow, Fabul-O and I are having breakfast with Santa in support of a local charity, Grin Kids. We went to our local mall the other night and said man in red was there…was “picture with your pet” night. Olivia shouted, “MOMMY! Santa has Pom-Pom. Two of dems!” After ‘splaining those doggies were someone else’s, blah, blah, blah. We stood a safe distance back (approximately 40 miles) from him and just watched. He waved at her and she covered her eyes…she’s still kind of in the phase of “if I can’t see you, you can’t see me.” We ran our errands and walked back by where he was and he tried to speak to her. Well, she was having NO part of that. She politely, but firmly, told him we would see him for “breffust” and she would talk to him then. Alrighty.

Every day she asks me if Santa is a nice guy, did he fly on an airplane or sleigh to get to town and would he just leave her stuff and go? And every day I answer her. She told me this morning she thought she was ready to talk to him and she had a new item to add to her original Christmas list. Okay…let’s hear it, kiddo.

Stickers, crayons, coloring books, computer and a FLASHLIGHT.

She loves flashlights. At last count I think she has 3 of them. One of them is a baby Maglite like daddy’s big one. That is her favorite.

After breakfast, we are heading off to a celebration to welcome home some National Guard soldiers who served in Djibouti, Africa. We helped to put it together and it’s always nice to meet the soldiers face to face with whom you’ve corresponded. Will is soldiering so he won’t be in attendance. However, he has been put as the first sergeant in charge while his unit is gone. This tells us he isn’t reassigned to another unit, but will be leading the remaining soldiers while the others are gone. It’s flattering as he is not a 1SG nor is he the highest ranking soldier not deploying.

PomPom has a spa day tomorrow. It’s more like a bath and haircut, but I’m playing it up and hoping it helps her disposition a little. She’s been kind of crabby lately. I know I usually feel good after a good haircut and am hoping she will, too.

Sunday is the family supp0rt meeting. I’m still trying to figure out the dynamic of our FRG and, to answer Koli’s mom from an earlier comment, I’m not playing a big part in the FRG. It’s not because I don’t want to, but because they won’t “let” me. It’s not easy to penetrate this group. I’m not giving up. I’ve got a support plan in mind with or without their blessing and help.

There are Thanksgiving pics and recap to come. I have a swell new turkey cooker and made my first evah cheesecake. Both were yummo.

Happy Friday!

