There are many, many posts throughout the internet and blogisphere that are so eloquently written with heartfelt sentiments. Those who have hung around with me for a while know how near and dear our military folks are to me. Being married to one, who comes from a long line of ’em, kind of helped to shape me like that.

One of my favorite quotes is by Joseph Campbell, “A hero is someone who has given his or her life to something bigger than oneself.” Another is by Bob Dylan, “I think of a hero as someone who understands the degree of responsibility that comes with his freedom.”

Many of our veterans and service members don’t like to be called heroes. They say that is reserved for their fallen brothers and sisters. I certainly appreciate that and I do try to respect it. You are the minority who have chosen to serve our great Nation. Whether you serve(d) in war time or peace time, in my eyes, and the eyes of others, you are a hero.

My words aren’t eloquent and they certainly aren’t profound, but my message is written with a full heart and sincerity…

Thank you. We appreciate you.

Be well.

