Blueberry Grunt, that is.  I made this Sunday night, but it wasn’t the blueberries I picked Friday.  These are ones I had from when mom picked last time.  Sarge Charlie says it looks like we picked 3 pecks.  Mom took some of the berries with her to put up and I have the rest with me.  I don’t know how she measures them out so I’ll have to get with her and let you know exactly how much we had.  If I remember, that is, and if she paid attention. 

Someone first told me about this recipe about a week ago and I wanted to make it just for the name.  Apparently, it gets its name from the sound in the pot.  Basically, it is a blueberry cobbler you make on top of the stove versus baking it.

Overall, was okay.  There are different recipes out there for it, but I chose this one because it was, well, easy.  I lurve easy.  The only big change I had was I used Heart Smart Bisquick to make my dumplings (the shortcake recipe) so I super cheated.

Blueberry Grunt

Ingredients:
Sauce:
4 cups wild fresh or frozen blueberries
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup sugar
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1/2 cup water

Dumplings:
2 cups flour
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp butter or shortening
milk

Dumplings I made:

1 cup Heart Smart Bisquick

1/3 cup skim milk

2 T sugar
Instructions:
Heat berries, spices, sugar, lemon juice, and water in a skillet; boil gently until well blended and slightly cooked down. Sift flour, baking powder, salt and sugar into a bowl. Cut in butter and add enough milk to make a soft biscuit dough. Drop by spoonfuls into hot berry sauce. Cover tightly with a lid and SIMMER for 15 minutes (no peeking!) The dumplings should be puffed and well cooked through. Transfer cooked dumplings to serving dish. Ladle sauce over top; top with (unwhipped) whipping cream.

I didn’t have any whipping cream or ice cream so I was forced to indulge without the added fun.  Like I said, overall it was good.  Will I make it again?  Probably.  It’s definitely something that needs to be eaten right away so I halved the recipe when I made it. 

 

I found this bit of history on grunts, cobblers, etc.  Quite interesting…

