It’s no secret I’m a stress eater. Come to think of it, I’m a nonstress eater too. I guess it all boils down to I lurve me some food.

Of of my favorite feel-good foods is soup; homemade vegetable soup. When Will was deployed the first time, I would make a pot on Sunday and eat it for a few days. People quit asking me what I was having for supper. It was either: soup, Big Macs or burritos from Taco Bell. I ate TB so much, they got to know my voice at the drive thru near my house so I had to start going to another one across town.

I digress…

I made a pot this past Sunday and we’ve eaten off it for a few meals so I thought I’d share my recipe. This is one of those throw it together recipes….

Veggie Soup

V8 juice (64 oz unless I’m making a small pot and then I use the 32 oz bottle)

water

Big can of crushed tomatoes in puree

2 (16 oz. each) bags of mixed veggies – the blend of your choice. I use corn, carrots, green beans, peas

salt to taste

pepper to taste

  1. Get your big ‘ol soup pot
  2. Pour in V8
  3. Add about 1 c. water to rinse out the V8 bottle – you can use more or less
  4. Can of tomatoes/puree
  5. Vegetables
  6. Salt and pepper to your taste…I love fresh cracked pepper and it puts a tinsy kick in it
  7. Stir it, cover it and cook it until the veggies are done to your liking

That’s it. Mucho simple. If you make the smaller batch, adjust your veggies, etc. accordingly.

Serve with warm and gooey grilled cheese sandwiches. Yummo

As an aside, it is healthy and falls well within the Weight Watchers world when you’re needing to eat but are low on points. I also use V8 as my chili starter; spicy V8.

