You know the one.  The one that has everything imaginable in it.  Or so you think it does, but you don’t really know for sure because it’s overrun.   The stuff it houses is the stuff you stare at in the grocery store and wonder, “do we need more trash bags?”  and buy them to be on the safe side.  Well, I just finished cleaning mine. 

I won’t need to purchase the following items for at least 6-8 months:

  • Sponges.  The cute blue ones I am able to use with my nonstick cookware.  There are 37 of them in “that” closet plus my active stash under the kitchen sink.  Could possibly last a year, but I’m pretty finicky about my sponges and not letting them hang out but so long.
  • Ziploc bags.  Ziploc brand has proven to be the best when shipping care packages to Iraq and Afghanistan.  I don’t need any.  For a long time.
  • Popcorn.  Thank goodness it has a long shelf life. 
  • Freezer pops.  The ones that could also be labeled as toddler crack since they are so loaded with sugar.
  • Lysol wipes.  That is unless I decide to disinfect the state of North Carolina 5 times. 

These items I’m well stocked on for at least a year:

  • Paper plates and napkins.  My most heartfelt apologies to those I’ve been helping their stock options with Dixie.  I won’t be buying for a while.
  • Paper towels. 
  • Trash bags.  Kitchen and the black yard bags.

18-24 months, or possibly longer:

  • Plastic cutlery.  It appears every time we have a gathering at Chateau L, I’ve felt the need to run out and buy a box of 500 knives, forks or spoons.  Seriously.  Do you know how long is it going to take me to go through 900 plastic knives?!

What did Will have to say about this?  “Why did you buy so much?”  Yeah, that went over well. 

Happy 5th!

