We had a wonderful time with our guests and hated to see them go. 

The butt? Absolutely de-lish-us. 

Rubbed and rested overnight in the refrigerator.

I have an issue with measuring.  My roast was too big for my crockpot whole so I had to cut it in half and shove into my cooker

After a little cooking (about 2 hours on high and 7 hours on low.  Once cooker turned off, I left in crock pot for about an hour) the bone slipped right out. 

I was able to pull all the fat right off and I shredded it by hand.  I made my own sauce – Eastern Carolina style – and tossed it with a little of the sauce and put it in the fridge for about 3 hours until we were ready for dinner.   I heated it up and served with additional sauce.

I made the Eggless Blueberry Muffins because D&T’s daughter has an egg allergy and I made chocolate dipped strawberries – some with red, white and blue sprinkles – to go along with our (indoor) July 4th picnic theme.

I did an arrangement of blue and white hydrangeas and red geraniums.

 

Eastern North Carolina Barbecue Sauce

1-1/2 cups apple cider vinegar

2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cayenne pepper

1-1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

3 Tbsp. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. hot pepper sauce

One squeeze of yellow mustard

In a large bow, mix together cider vinegar, salt, cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, brown sugar and hot pepper sauce.  Stir until salt and brown sugar have dissolved.  Cover and let stand at least 3 hours before using as a basting sauce or serving on meat.

I can’t remember where I got the recipe. I had a 12 oz. bottle of vinegar and made the whole thing so adjusted my ingredients for the extra vinegar.  I made it Friday evening so it stood about 15 hours before I marinated the cooked meat in it.  It’s a little spicy, but that’s how we like it.   If it’s a bit too tangy, you can increase the amount of brown sugar.  You can also adjust the spice by adding more than called for or decreasing.  I’ve read some people use a dollop of mustard to help keep the pepper flakes from immediately sinking to the bottom; I did.  Can’t taste the mustard and it certaily didn’t keep the flakes suspended for any geat length of time, so I may or may not use it next time.

I’m calling dinner a success.  I think the barbecue and sauce turned out great.  It is definitely a keeper and I plan on making it again.  Next time with a smaller butt or a bigger cooker.

