Trying has started a cookie swap blog thingy where she has asked some of her readers to post their favorite cookie recipes on their blogs. Well, as much as I love to cook, I’ve never been a baker with the exception of a special occasion cake here and there or banana pudding. A couple of weeks ago, I posted her Eggless Blueberry Muffin recipe and it’s been made at least 4 times since then with variations including strawberry, which Will says are better on day two. I wouldn’t know; he took them all to work. My favorite version is mixed berry with blueberries, blackberries and raspberries. This idea of hers has had me in the kitchen trying out some new stuff I’ve had recipes for, but haven’t made for one reason or another.

Here is the Eggless Blueberry Muffin recipe again. This time I made it in a square pan instead of muffins.

Egg less Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour ( I’ve been trying to use more whole wheat flour so I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup regular)
1 cup sugar, plus 2 tsp. more
4 tsp. baking powder
1 cup milk
3 Tbs. melted butter
1 cup fresh blueberries

Heat oven to 350. Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners. Combine flour, sugar and baking powder in a medium-size bowl. Stir in milk by hand and melted butter. Fold in blueberries. Fill each cup 2/3 full. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Last night I set out on my quest for a new recipe, which she happened to do, too. Ahhh, great minds think alike. However, I’m much more impressed with her since she made hers from scratch. Mine? Out of a box. I’m going to try hers one day.

Pumpkin Spice Cookies

One box of Spice Cake Mix

One can of pumpkin – not pie mix, but pumpkin

Mix them together. Throw in some chocolate chips or raisins, if you want, and bake at 350* for about 18-20 minutes. I used chocolate chips, but Will and I both think raisins would be better. They have more of a muffin top consistency and a bit chewy. Yummo.

The second baked item last night was a recipe for brownies. With the new things I’ve been trying, we have implemented the rule Will can’t ask what’s in it until he tells me if he likes it or not.

Black Bean Brownies

For this recipe, do not follow the ingredients list on your brownie box.  You are only using 1 can of beans and 1 box of mix.  Only use the oven temp. and baking times listed on the box.

1 Box brownie mix

1 can black beans

Preheat oven to per brownie box.

Drain and rinse black beans well. Put back into can and fill with water until beans are just covered. Puree in blender or food processor.

Mix with dry brownie mix.

Cook according to brownie package directions.

Notes: Be sure to process good….you don’t want to end up with a sliver of bean skin in between your teeth. You really can’t taste the beans. Will had no clue and neither did the folks he works with. They were the consistency of a cross between fudge and a chewy brownie. I’ll definitely make them again. It’s a way to get in a veggie and some fiber!

Finally, tonight’s delight….

Eggless Banana Bread

3 ripe bananas
1/4 c. vegetable oil (I used 1/4 c. applesauce instead)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 c. sugar
2 c. flour (I used 1 c. all purpose and 1 c. whole wheat)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 c. chopped walnuts or pecans (I didn’t use nuts – didn’t have any)

Mash bananas (overripe make the best bread). Add oil, vanilla and sugar. Mix well. Sift flour, salt and soda together and add to banana mixture with walnuts if using. Mix until flour is blended in but do not overmix.

Put into loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees F. for 45-60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan, then remove to rack to cool completely before cutting.

Notes: My substitutions are in blue. I made muffins vs. bread and baked about 20 minutes until my knife came out clean. I think next time I’ll make the bread. They turned out pretty delish.

(By the way…the pics aren’t with my new camera…no CF card reader and too lazy to hook it up to the laptop)

