My friend Sarah commented on my favorite things post about today being Friday the 13th.  I have a smidgen of history with the number 13…

I’m not superstitious.  I do, however, try not to tempt fate.  I’ve never been a fan of the number 13, for whatever reason.  When we bought our house, it was still “Lot 2” and it wasn’t until right before closing we found out our address was 13XX.  Cripes.  Too late to do anything now.

We put out sidewalk lights once upon a time and the box had 16, but we have a short sidewalk and only needed 13 with the way it curved.  Nope…ain’t happening.  Take one up or put another down.  This was before the days we wised up to solar lights and it was a pain to do.  I knew in his mind Will was giving me a beat down, but he obliged.

Little things like this went on and I avoided the number 13 whenever possible.  Then came Olivia. Her birthday is on the 13th and I took a new liking to the number.  The first things I bought for her after her referral totaled $13.xx.  Will and I went to dinner that night and the total was $13 even.  It set a little mind altering pattern for me.

I know Friday the 13th explains some of the whack jobs that wander aimlessly through the world, but I ain’t ‘fraid of the 13th any more.  No sirree, not mee…

