pink_ribbon_medium.png Over the past several months, I’ve been dealing with some issues with one of the “girls.” I had a rash we thought was an irritation to soap, detergent, or something. After trying different things to clear it up and then having a discharge, my family doctor sent me to a surgeon to be evaluated for a type of breast cancer called Paget’s disease. Yes, it was that serious. I had a biopsy done and was sent for an ultrasound, at which time the radiologist shuffled me down the hall for a mammogram. There was a lump found, which has turned out to be a benign cyst, but I never felt it on self-exams.  The biopsy was negative, too.

I was at Shanny’s one day and a lady attending the Pampered Chef party told us about the Aware pad for doing self-exams. I was on a website once to buy it and, for whatever reason, didn’t. Mine should arrive in the next week or so.

The point of my post? Even though I’m in my mid-30s with no significant family history, it doesn’t matter. Take the changes in your body seriously and make sure your health care provider takes them seriously, too.

This year, instead of just donating to breast cancer research, I will be participating in one of the walks. Stay tuned for details.

