Before moving on to sleep stuff….Potty training appears to be a success. I’ve hesitated posting this (and I probably still shouldn’t) but we are 99% done. Just an occasional accident now and again. What has finally sealed the deal is Olivia is telling us; we had just been taking her at regular intervals but now she will tell us when she has to go. She has also been waking up dry in the mornings, hallelujah! However, I’m not brave enough to fore go Pull Ups at night yet.

We are having sleep issues…again and still. Just when it seems I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, something blocks my view. Olivia is back to only letting me put her down at night and it takes eons to get her to sleep. We’ve started early…we’ve started late…we stick to the same routine…we’ve tried adding an extra book in there…you name it, I’ve tried it. The biggest problem is she won’t sleep all night without me there with her. If she wakes up and I’m gone it’s all out screaming. We’ve offered prizes (including a swimming pool since she loves to swim), shopping trips, treats, etc. all to no avail. I’ve read every book I can find with the last one being “Healthy Sleep Habits, Healthy Child” by Marc Weissbluth. A lot of it we’ve already tried and it failed. Olivia gets really bad nosebleeds and they start for no reason so sometimes she cries because her nose is bleeding and she’s scared of the blood. Other times (most of the time) I’m not there. When I put her down, she wakes up at midnight/12:30. We’re up for an hour or more, which kills my sleep. She goes back to sleep and I move back to my room. An hour or so later, she’s up again screaming at the top of her lungs. I don’t know what to do. We don’t like having her in our bed because it’s, well, our bed. And she’s such a bad bed partner anyway.

I’ve tried talking to her and she’ll say she’s scared. I’ll say of what and she responds with, “monsters.” It’s hard to explain to a 2 1/2 year old there are no monsters and I’m sure she picked up on monsters from a kid at school. We’ve tried the bedroom door open, lamp on, “special” blankets, Teddy to watch over her, etc. Not working. I’ve tried telling her daddy needs her to share me because she understands sharing and letting others have their turn. Not working. Last night I thought we had a breakthrough when she let Will put her down. After their nighttime routine she sat up, looked at him and said, “Mommy’s turn” and it began again.

I’m open to suggestions (but no criticism). Those who have been there, done that PLEASE tell me what you did. Did it eventually just go away on its own or will I be tucking her in when she leaves for college?

