I’m a week two weeks late with this but it seems to be my recurrent theme of late.

A local radio station has a Second Chance Prom every year to benefit their charity.  I’ve wanted to go for the past 8 years but there has always been something that stood in the way or Will just flat out refusing to go.  This year while he was on AT, I bought tickets.  Hah.  We went with Shannon and Tony and I must tell you, it was a freaking riot!  We had the best time evah!  It was way better than a high school prom; everyone had to be over 21 and there was a cash bar.  We danced.  We laughed.  We made fun of those who brought out their mid-80s prom dresses.  It ranged from church-type clothes to shiny pimp-like duds.  I told Shannon that even though we were giggling our tushies off at the puff sleeves and Gone With the Wind-esque bows, every girl there thought she was the bell of the ball and felt pretty*, which is very, very important.  However, their friends should have been gracious enough to tell them that sleeves stuffed with tissue paper went out with Hammer pants.  Will even had a better time than he ever thought possible; I think we all did. 

It was an amazing night and I hope that those who turned us down this year will go next year.   For the rest of you, pack up and head our way – you can go, too. 

Hammer pants (for those who may not know or can’t remember)

hammer-pants.jpg

At dinner

dinner-small.jpg

 ws.jpg

At the prom

Tony and Shannon

tony-and-shannon-small.jpg

Tony and Will (Darn them for being so photogenic!!)

tony-and-will.jpg

Pimp

pimp.jpg

Pimp Posse

pimp-posse.jpg

 __________________________________________________________

*Before anyone stumbles here and makes a snide comment:

  • No, I don’t think I’m better than anyone.  I just dressed more tasteful than some and I know it – so did 93% of the other people there.
  • My dress was bought 3 weeks before prom so I know it’s in the right decade.  Besides, it’s black, not peach taffeta.
  • Shannon went with me and told me what looked good and didn’t and I trust her. 
  • Will thought I looked smokin’ hot and that’s what matters.
