O’s doctor left the practice about a month ago and the doctor who has replaced him is less than desirable so I was/am on the hunt for a new one. I called my friend J who has two kiddies and asked her who her ped was because she has always spoken so highly of him. I got the number and called. This is how it went:

Them: Blah, blah, blah office.

Me: Hi. This is Susan [insert new ped story here]. My daughter is adopted and I want to make sure Dr. XX is familiar with adopted children.

Them: Yes. (huff, sigh) he sees adopted children all the time.

Me: Great. I’d like to make an appointment to meet with him before I schedule her 2 year check up.

Them: Um. We don’t do that unless you are pregnant. They are the only ones who get to meet with a doctor before hand.

Me: You’re kidding, right?

Them: Um. No.

Me: Hmmm. (thinking I was being overly sensitive) Please set the appt. for xx/xx/07.

Conversation ends.

Now, for me to see a new doctor is okay b/c I’m a grown up and can make my own choices and am pretty much familiar with my ailments. O, on the other hand, is a different story. She’s my first kid and our current office calls us their “mascot,” which I’m not sure if it is a compliment or not. I do know they love O and the office staff is fantastic. I want a doctor who understands me as a first time mom and will treat me the way I think I need to be treated. Plain. Simple. Besides, it’s a hassle to move records and I don’t want to go through it unless I know I like the doctor. So I ran it past Will when I got home and a couple of other folks to see if I was being overly sensitive to Them’s comment about pregnant women. Now, let me start by saying that I’m overjoyed to have Olivia. I am not bitter, upset, down trodden or anything else about the way our family came about. Our family dynamic is great. I decided to sleep on it to see how I felt the next morning. I woke up and still miffed about what was said to me and I decided to cancel the appointment. I called up and spoke with an office gal and explained the whole situation to her and she gasped so much air I swear my hair went through the receiver. She was mortified. As, I think, she should be. She apologized profusely and promised to have a manager call me. Okay. That’s fine but still cancel the appointment. Them was my first contact with their office and I was way less than impressed with her.

Fast forward 3 hours later…office manager calls. I explain it to her again and she apologizes and tells me Them was kind of new so I tell her that if it was up to me, Them would be gone. Out. Finito. But, since it wasn’t up to me, I presumed she would have her apologize for what she said.

Normally I would have probably shrugged this off and chalked it up to pure stupidity and at $5.50 an hour, you get what you pay for but I just couldn’t – not this time. What if I was one of the women who was extremely sensitive to not having kids of her own? Words can cut deeper than hurt more than anything and they needed to know that.

After mulling over it, I’ve decided to leave O at our existing doctor’s office. Since we go to family practitioner, and I expressed my concern about the new doctor, mine was more than happy to take O on as a patient. We really do like them and we never dread going to see them as usually you are in and out in under an hour – maybe an hour and fifteen minutes if you have to have labs drawn.  The same if we’re a work in.  Why try to fix what isn’t completely broken, I guess.

