You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 30, 2008.

He beat me home.  Sadly, he didn’t fold the laundry or run the dishwasher, but he’s home safe and sound and took me out to dinner.  Best yet: He didn’t complain because I didn’t fold the laundry or run the DW. 

The happiest sounds are wafting from my bedroom right now…kisses, belly laughs and “I love yous.” 

Have I ever mentioned how lucky I am?

*UPDATE*

He folded the laundry for me 🙂  Love him.

I’ve been using Bloglines forevah to stalk blogs in order to stay on top of some of my favorite friends in the Blogishpere.  Well, those who have used Bloglines have probably noticed that, from time to time, blogs randomly disappear.  When I only had a handful, versus the entire internet I now stalk keep up with, I could tell who fell off.  Now I don’t realize someone has vanished until it smacks me one day that I haven’t seen anything from them in a while or they comment on a post.  I find them and realize that their lives are still rolling on despite the fact I’ve not been following along.

Bloglines is easy to use so I like it.  How about Google reader?  or any other stalking trolling ideas?  Please share your thoughts.  If it wasn’t for her saying hi and wishing Will happy homecoming, I would have missed Spacemom’s car getting jacked by a golf ball and all her other turns of events and life’s happenings.

 

That was the question again today about Will coming home from AT. “Yellow or white airplane mommy?  Just kiddin’.  White ’cause yellow is Big Bird.”

I’m glad to have him on his way home.  I think he’s going to be home earlier than anticipated because his phone is off and when I talked to him at 7 this morning two planes had already left, but he didn’t know when his flight was.  There are roughly 4,000 of them coming home today. I really wasn’t expecting him until the wee hours of tomorrow morning based on their original plan.  Hopefully I’ll make it home before him (doubtful, but slightly possible) to do a quick pickup.   Otherwise, here’s to hoping he decides to fold that load of laundry and run the dishwasher.

I work in a small town that now has 4 gas stations. 

Gas station “M” Is owned by the same folks who own an “M” in a neighboring city so their gas prices are always the same.

Same story with gas station “B”.

Gas station “S” is family owned and operated and they pretty much do their own thing.

Gas station “A” is the new kid in town.

Gas prices in town are always the same, or within a few pennies, at the three existing stations.  However, if I travel to the next “big” city to go to Wol Mrt or something, gas there is, on average, ten cents cheaper than the town I work in, but I don’t buy gas there because 1. I’m usually not in that town when I need gas and 2.  I typically buy gas from “M” because I have their Maztercard and I get 5% back on my gas purchases at their stations, plus I got 10% for the first sixty days.  At $3.79 gallon, 5% back is an okay thing. (As an aside: I work in SC and the gas tax for SC is cheaper than NC so it’s always cheaper to buy my gas in SC)

Well, another shake up in the small town when  “A” opened with a price of $3.73.  That made “M” do the same thing.  While I’d love to support “A” in an effort to bitch slap those who have monopolized the gas market in small town, I want/need my 5% back.  So, until I get a generic Maztercard or Viza that gives me my 5%, I’m going to buy from “M”.   Wednesday I filled up for $3.69.

My little side of beef is this: You know they aren’t putting themselves in a position to not make a profit; nobody is in business to lose money.  Their profits may not be as much, but they aren’t losing money.  If we have the “wiggle” room for a gas-war, why can’t we use that “wiggle” room so people can afford to drive to work and feed their families?  I don’t have the magic solution, but it’s odd to me people who price gouge after a disaster (i.e. a $300 generator marked up to $1000) are arrested and pay consequences, why can’t the same be done for oil companies?  It’s gouging.  I don’t care how you slice it, dice it or fry it up.  It is what it is. 

Also, I think we should elect a group of housewives or single gals or anyone who has to balance a household budget to fill the Presidency; middle class, working people who have to make their money last every month.  I’d also suggest we put a Great Clips at the White House.  I’ve had a $100 haircut and I’ve had a $15 haircut; they turned out about the same.   Go figure.

*sigh*

It’s What Day?!?

May 2008
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Wanna tell me something?

Email Me potandkettle (at) gmail (dot) com

A Little Dusty, But Still A Good Read

How My Words Are Filed